Menu

How to get away from Facebook?

  • October 3rd, 2018 5:15 pm
  • In Facts
Get away from facebook

Every one of us have once thought of not using the social applications (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc) and be free from all of it. But what we actually did was get away from it for a while and later again log into it and start using like an idiot getting away from real life. Some people also deactivate their account for a certain time and try to get away from being addicted to it but what most of them did was again re-activate it use it more often. So if you’ve wanted to get away from it forever and don’t wanna use it again. Then you can delete your account with all the personal data, photos and everything related to you.  

If you’ve finally given up on the world’s most popular social media network — be it from the Cambridge Analytica scandal or today’s news that unknown hackers stole access to 50 million accounts — it’s not too complicated to remove yourself from the service. But before you delete all of those pictures, posts, and Likes, you should download your personal information from Facebook first.

Your Facebook archives contain just about all of the pertinent information related to your account, including your photos, active sessions, chat history, IP addresses, facial recognition data, and which ads you clicked, just to name a few. That’s a ton of personal information that you should probably maintain access to. To download your archive, go to “Settings” and click “Download a copy of your Facebook data” at the bottom of General Account Settings, and then click “Start My Archive.”

After you’ve finished downloading your archive, you can now delete your account. Beware: once you delete your account, it cannot be recovered.

If you are ready to delete your account, you can click this link, which will take you to the account deletion page. (Facebook doesn’t have the delete account option in its settings, for some reason.) Once you click “Delete My Account,” your account will be marked for termination, and inaccessible to others using Facebook.

The company notes that it delays termination for a few days after it’s requested. If you log back in during that period, your deletion request will be canceled. So don’t sign on, or you’ll be forced to start the process over again. Certain things, like comments you’ve made on a friend’s post, may still appear even after you delete your account. Facebook also says that copies of certain items like log records will remain in its database, but notes that those are disassociated with personal identifiers.

The company says it can take up to 90 days to fully delete your account and the information associated with it, but it notes that your account will be inaccessible to other people using Facebook during that time.

If you’re really serious about quitting Facebook, remember that the company owns several other popular services as well, like Instagram and WhatsApp, so you should delete your accounts there as well.

About Techlink

At thetechlink, we've had our eyes locked to the technology landscape ever since 2014. From our humble beginnings as a microscopic but passionate team, we've grown into one of the most respected voices in tech reporting. Our commitment to quality and editorial integrity makes us the go-to resource for tech lovers, but the site hasn't always looked like it currently does. We all use these devices that get us through the day—our smartphone, our wristwatch, our home monitoring system.